Skip to product information
1 of 2

Now Again

V/A - True Soul Vol. 2 : Deep Sounds From the Left of Stax , CD + DVD

V/A - True Soul Vol. 2 : Deep Sounds From the Left of Stax , CD + DVD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 17.97 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

60's and 70's Soul, Funk, Disco, Party-Rap and Boogie from Arkansas's Legendary Independent Label – the second installment presented as a CD/DVD.

Now-Again Records, in association with label-owner Lee Anthony, is proud to present the release of True Soul: Deep Sounds from the Left of Stax, a collection of rare and unreleased funk and soul music from the fabled Arkansas indie. Over twelve years in the making, this anthology – presented over the course of two volumes of CD/DVDs and one four-LP box set – seeks to establish True Soul's rightful place within America's funk and soul pantheon.

As much as this CD/DVD set is about the adventurous, always-funky and oh-so-rare recordings that True Soul made possible, it is also about Anthony, the man. A true, American "up-from-the-bootstraps" story, Anthony's is one in which his frontiersman's entrepreneurial spirit and vision remains undeterred as he sets up black-owned businesses in a post-Jim Crow South and succeeds in capturing recordings from the high water mark of America's funk and soul movement.

Anthony's story intertwines with the renowned Sam Philips – an early mentor and patron – and Memphis's Al Bell and Willie Mitchell – with whom Anthony collaborated as he tried to cultivate Little Rock's funk and soul in the shadow of Stax and Hi Records. This anthology will make influence amongst the history of southern funk and soul is transparent, as his story of how he helped turn a stranded road band into the Gap Band.

This comprehensive True Soul Records anthology – presented in a 56-page, full color hardbound book chock full of photos, ephemera and extensive liner notes - not only carries the rare distributed funk and soul 45s that led the likes of renowned collectors DJ Shadow and Cut Chemist to Lee Anthony's door in search of Anthony's fabled "treasure chest," but also includes previously unreleased boogie, disco and party rap recorded in True Soul's early-80's twilight. Accompanying legendary cuts such as "Slipping Around" and "Doing my Own Thing" is a DVD containing excerpts from The True Soul Revue television program, that captured live performances from the True Soul All Stars in 1973.

1 Albert Smith –             The Thrill Is Gone           
2  Thomas East –             Just A Trip               
3  Larry Davis –             Down Home Funk               
4  Thomas East –             Sister Funk              
5  Classic Funk –             The Funk's Gonna Fly                 
6   York Wilborn's Psychedelic Six –    Thank You                
7   Conspiracy, The –             Conspiracy               
8  Right Track, The –             Maybe Yes, Maybe No                 
9    Leaders (2), The –             (It's A) Rat Race                    
10   Conspiracy, The –             I Believe                       
11  John Craig –             I Don't Want To Do It                       
12   John Craig –             Doing My Own Thing             
13   Right Track, The –             You For Me And Me For You               
14  Portrait –             Springtime Smile                  
15  Portrait –          Love You For Now On                 
16   Le'Chance –    Get Down            
17   Le'Chance –    Gigolo                       
18   Soul Mind And Body –             I Took Your Love (To Be True)

View full details