Skip to product information
1 of 1

Now Again

Rikki Ililonga & Musi-O-Tunya - Dark Sunrise, 2xCD

Rikki Ililonga & Musi-O-Tunya - Dark Sunrise, 2xCD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 18.98 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Now Again Records is proud to present an album entitled Dark Sunrise, an anthology of Zambian "Zam-Rock" godfather Rikki Ililonga and his groundbreaking band Musi-O-Tunya.

The anthology surveys Musi-O-Tunya's rarely heard 7" singles not just the first psychedelic rock music, but the first pop music independently released in Zambia their debut album Wings of Africa and follows Ililonga's solo career in its first stages, with his Zambia and Sunshine Love albums. While global psychedelic rock and funk enthusiasts have recently been introduced to Zam-Rock via Now Again and Shaddock's re-issues of the likes of Witch and Amanaz's early albums, Dark Sunrise stands as the definitive document that, both musically and in prose, shines light on this African musical hotbed.

Dark Sunrise contains 32 tracks that can be distilled to simple descriptionsdriving music characterized by James Brown's raw funk, combined with the fuzz guitar sounds of Jimi Hendrix and the polyrhythms native to this African nation. But this neglects to mention Musi-O-Tunya and Ililonga's otherworldliness. Sure, the majority of their work is performed in English, but this is unique psychedelic rock/blues/rumba/folk/funk music, the likes of which has rarely been heard outside of Zambia's borders.

This gem is packaged as a 2xCD hardbound book. Included is a stunning full color booklet with never-before-seen photos, ephemera, an introduction to the Zam-Rock scene and a candid interview between Egon and this little known yet genius African multi-instrumentalist himself.
Track Listing:
Disc 1: Musi-O-Tunya
1. Tsegulani
2. Mpondolo
3. Walk And Fight
4. The Sun
5. Dark Sunrise
6. One Reply
7. The Wings Of Africa
8. Jekete Yamankowa Part 1
9. Jekete Yamankowa Part 2
10. Chalo Chawama
11. Ng'ombe Shala
12. Mpulula
13. Smoke  
Disc 2: Rikki Ililonga
1. Sansa Kuwa
2. Sheebeen Queen
3. Stop Dreaming Mr. D
4. The Hole
5. Hot Fingers
6. Se Keel Me Queek
7. The Nature Of Man
8. Musamuseka
9. Zambia
10. The Queen Blues
11. Love Is The Way
12. Lovely Woman
13. Munzi Wa Kangwana
14. Working On The Wrong Thing
15. Ulemu
16. Sunshine Love
17. Take It Light
18. Angel Black 
View full details