Skip to product information
1 of 1

Stones Throw

Monk Hughes & The Outer Realm - A Tribute To Brother Weldon, CD

Monk Hughes & The Outer Realm - A Tribute To Brother Weldon, CD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 14.00 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shortly after the jazz great Weldon Irvine's tragic death in 2002, Madlib entered his studio with bassist Monk Hughes of Yesterday's New Quintet and composed an instrumental tribute album to his spiritual-mentors life and music. Its fitting Irvine was one of the first to give Madlib's Yesterday's New Quintet project respect as part and parcel of jazz's ever expanding legacy.

The Monk Hughes & The Outer Realm CD, A Tribute To Brother Weldon was first manufactured as an in-house Stones Throw Records listening-piece complete with a custom cover and a press run of about ten copies. An early dub made its way to tastemaker Gilles Peterson, who played it on his acclaimed Worldwide Show on BBC/Radio 1 in the UK.

Those who knew the project often asked the same question that the cult who followed Yesterdays New Quintets promo-only Stevie release asked: "When is this thing going to see a proper release?" Now, over a year later, A Tribute To Brother Weldon follows up Stevie as the second in a series of YNQ projects to be commercially released by Stones Throw Records in 2004

Produced by Madlib and Joe McDuphrey

Track Listing:
1. Prelude / Run With The Sun (Afterlife)
2. A Piece For Brother Weldon
3. Irvine's Vine
4. Time
5. Welldone
6. Liberated
7. Keys
8. Still Young, Gifted & Broke
9. Nodlew's Sea
10. Day Of Spirit Man
11. Master Wel's Tune
12. The Beginning, The Middle & The End

All music written and performed by Monk Hughes & The Outer Realm,
inspired by the music of Weldon Irvine, 1943-2002
View full details