Skip to product information
1 of 1


Lyrics Born - As U Were, CD

Lyrics Born - As U Were, CD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 14.98 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Bay Area Independent Rap Legend Lyrics Born has joined forces with New York multimedia powerhouse Decon for the sake of quality trans-national hip-hop. The multi-faceted musician plans to release his third proper solo effort, As U Were on October 26th. The lead single "Lies x 3" is an alt-tinged synth-rocker that is a sure shot summer banger.

Blending catchy pop-synth melodies and hooks, heavy guitar riffs, sticky bass, and windshield poppin' beats, As U Were exemplifies LB's most adventurous production to date. Coupled with his razor-sharp humor, rhythmic baritone, and signature melodic cadence, the new album is a jaw-dropping musical experience unlike any other. Familiar fans will appreciate classic collaborations with Gift of Gab and Joyo Velarde, as well as an overdue reunion with Lateef. He also draws on the talent of recently celebrated acts such as Trackademicks, Sam Sparro and Francis and The Lights. Even beat impresarios Jake One and Headnodic snag co-production credits, hammering out beats alongside LB's in-house team of stage musicians, the ever-funky and ambidextrous Lyrics Born Mixed Re-View.

In an emblematic and celebrated career spanning a decade, Lyrics Born has built his name, reputation, and expansive international fanbase by continually forging ahead into uncharted territory, both musically and otherwise. As a musician he has been responsible for some of the most memorable and innovative independent hits and albums of the past decade, both as a solo artist, as a member of Latyrx and as a founder of Quannum Projects, the seminal independent label he reared with DJ Shadow, Blackalicious and Lateef.

Noticing the industry shift towards digital content, the visionary entrepreneur developed one of the first artist-owned and operated internet television sites, LBTV, and the first artist-owned and operated internet radio site, LBFM. Years later, at the pinnacle of the music industry's transformation, LB has maintained his position as one of the most successful independent Hip-Hop artists of all time. As U Were will further solidify this status. In a truly modern and unprecedented new partnership, Lyrics Born and his label Mobile Home Recordings will retain the rights to all content, including recorded masters. "I'm so excited about this right now," LB gushes. "I'm proud and flattered to be in league with such a long-standing and creative team that understands my vision."

"I have been a fan of Lyrics Born since the days of Latyrx and we are thrilled to add him to our diverse roster here," Peter Bittenbender, president of Decon says. "Throughout his expansive career, he has consistently exceeded his fans' expectations when it comes to creativity, sound, and presentation. We look forward to continue pushing those boundaries with what we hope will be the first of many collaborations"
Track Listing:
1. Kontrol Phreak
2. I Wanna B W/U (feat. Lateef The Truth Speaker)
3. We Live By The Beat
4. Coulda Woulda Shoulda (feat. Sam Sparro)
5. As U Were Reception (skit)
6. I've Lost Myself (feat. Joyo Velarde)
7. Lies X 3
8. Born-E-Oh's! (skit)
9. Pushed Aside / Pulled Apart (feat. Lateef The Truth Speaker)
10. Oh, Baby!
11. I'm The Best (Funky Fresh In The Flesh)
12. Block Bots (feat. Trackademicks / Clyde Carson)
13. Pillz 'Lude (skit)
14. Pillz (feat. Gift of Gab)
15. Something Better (feat. Francie and The Lights)
16. (What Happened 2 Our) Love Affair?
View full details