Skip to product information
1 of 1

Stones Throw

James Pants - Welcome (w/ FREE Stones Throw Fan Club 45), CD

James Pants - Welcome (w/ FREE Stones Throw Fan Club 45), CD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 14.98 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out







The year is 2001 and the place is Texas. Stones Throw head honcho Peanut Butter Wolf is DJing while a sharply dressed young man approaches the DJ booth with his Prom date in tow to formally introduce himself. Thus begins the story of James Pants. What began as a dream Prom night to see his hero DJ went to an internship at the label to eventually landing the ultimate fantasy by being signed to the roster and championed as the 'next big thing' by none other than Peanut Butter Wolf himself (on top of critics like Busy P, Urb, XLR8R, and Dazed & Confused magazines). Mr. Pants is a purveyor par excellence of that unmistakable 'fresh beat': 80's soul, Electro Boogie, Early Rap, New Wave, and Post-Punk Disco, all of which can be found on Welcome where James plays drums, keys, guitar, and sings. From a radio perspective, what format does this fall under- this new style that Pants has invented? Do you play it on the groove alongside the likes of Skyy, Cameo, or even Pharrell (listen to Ka$h)? Or do you play it in the underground alongside the up-to-the-minute electro pulse of Egyptian Lover, Cybotron and even Too $hort? The answer, of course, is both! There's enough Pants to fit any style.

Track Listing:

1. Theme From Paris
2. Dragonslayer
3. Crystal Lite feat. Deon Davis
4. Cosmic Rapp
5. We're Through
6. My Tree
7. My Girl
8. Prayers Of The People
9. Good Things
10. I Choose You
11. Green Rivers
12. Finger On The Knife
13. Voodoo Caves
14. Ka$h feat. Deon Davis
15. You're The One feat. Gary Davis
16. Shower Party
View full details