Skip to product information
1 of 1

Plug Research

Flying Lotus - 1983, CD

Flying Lotus - 1983, CD

Regular price $ 9.98 USD
Regular price $ 9.98 USD Sale price $ 9.98 USD
Sale Sold out

Los Angeles resident Flying Lotus brings beats with a cinematic flare, "I see these tracks as little short films that play in my head." Flying Lotus is a free spirit, "I have this beautiful lemon tree in my backyard, and on a sunny day the light shines through. Little things like that inspire me." A Coltrane through and through, Flying Lotus is the great-nephew of Alice Coltrane and a cousin of Ravi Coltrane. "My greatest influences are my family, I'm lucky to have been around so many accomplished musicians." And most importantly, Flying Lotus is a visionary, so get ready to meet your favorite new producer.  1983 is the first full-length album from Flying Lotus, originally released on Plug Research in 2006. The album was an introduction for most to a sound that connected the fractured, funky soul of Dilla and Madlib to the more psychedelic downtempo of Daedelus, Nobody and other kindred spirits. In the years since this release, the Southern California scene has coalesced, and Lotus has continued his genre synthesis, working with UK dubstep producer Kode9, among others. This is bass music that gets tagged ‘experimental' because it pushes boundaries, but felt live, there's no doubting the direct, physical impact it has on an audience.  While the title 1983 may conjure images of parachute pants and asymmetrical ‘dos, the ‘83 Lotus envisions isn't the typical retro cheese covered by VH1 specials. This is Blade Runner, Bambaataa, the Bomb Squad, and Basquiat. This is the musical future Prince was dreamin' about.

Track Listing:

1 1983 5:10

2 São Paulo 2:08

3 Bad Actors 1:28

4 Orbit Brazil 2:40

5 Shifty 1:28

6 Babble 0:53

7 Pet Monster Shotglass 6:39

8 Hello 2:48

9 Untitled #7 3:22

10 Unexpected Delight

Vocals [Featuring] – Laura Darlington 3:22

11 1983 (Daedelus's Odd-Dance Party Remix)

Remix – Daedelus

View full details