Skip to product information
1 of 1

Universal Motown

Erykah Badu - New AmErykah Part 2: Return Of The Ankh, CD

Erykah Badu - New AmErykah Part 2: Return Of The Ankh, CD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 15.98 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out

Erykah Badu New AmErykah Part 2: Return Of The Ankh on CD.

Grammy Award-winning, genre-defining singer Erykah Badu brought a baby daughter into the world February 1, via a midwife-attended home birth in Brooklyn. Badu and boyfriend Jay Electronica took turnstweeting every detail as the birth unfolded. Badu seemingly postponed the release because of the pregnancy and her leading role alongside Mos Def in the indie film, Bobby Zero. Needless to say, Badu's a busy, busy lady.

Naturally, the nu-soul singer is tight-lipped about her self-produced sequel to her socially conscious gold album, New Amerykah Part One (4th World War). What we can deduce is that the "ankh" subtitle delves more into the spiritual themes of Part One. The Egyptian hieroglyphic means "eternal life" after all. Where the 4th World War comes across as a nod towards the war you have with yourself (some have postulated the African-American's Civil Rights movement), Badu says Return of the Ankh deals with a "spiritual and emotional" battle. The sixth album's USB stick packaging includes extras ranging from footage of concerts, to commentary on the recording process and me in the bathtub with Flavor Flav.

With a new songwriting approach and a fresh outlook on the world, Badu's newest is sure to be another dazzling touchstone in her already impressive discography.
Track Listing:
1. 20 Feet Tall
2. Window Seat (feat. ?uestlove)
3. Agitation
4. Get Money
5. Don't Be Long
6. Love
7. Umm Umm
8. Fall In Love
9. Incense (Instrumental)
10. Out My Mind Just In Time (Part 1: Undercover Over-Lover)
11. Out My Mind Just In Time (Part 2)
12. Jump In The Air (feat. Lil Wayne / Bilal)
View full details