Skip to product information
1 of 1

Stones Throw

Baron Zen - At The Mall, CD

Baron Zen - At The Mall, CD

Regular price $ 10.00 USD
Regular price $ 14.98 USD Sale price $ 10.00 USD
Sale Sold out







Peanut Butter Wolf, before making his name as a DJ and Producer and before founding Stones Throw Records, was programming drums for a one-man punk rock/disco army known as Baron Zen. Known, that is, to almost no one, because Baron Zen did not play shows, did not release records, rejected all forms of publicity, and above all, rejectd the boundaries separating hip hop, disco, punk rock, and pop.

Sweet Steve is the man behind Baron Zen. His recording career as Baron Zen lasted from 1988 to 1992, the best of which is collected on this album - his first and only. He was ahead of his time in the 80's, but the times have been threatening to catch up with him. Baron Zen today sounds like the missing link between PIL and DFA...or suburban punk rock garage bands of the 80s and the DJ culture of today... or The Dead Milkmen if they had been hip hop b-boys.

Track Listing:
01 Baron Zen Theme
02 No More
03 Walked in Line (Joy Division Cover)
04 F**kin' Bored
05 Shoes
06 Turn Around
07 Night in Jail
08 Last Night
09 When I Hear Music (Debbie Deb cover)
10 Gotta Get Rid of Rick
11 At the Mall
12 Money
13 Walking on Sunshine (Katrina & the Waves)
14 Burn Rubber (Gap Band cover)
View full details