Samiyam - Sam Baker's Album, 2xLP Vinyl + download card

$ 20.98

Coming out with one of the most anticipated and long-awaited albums so far on Brainfeeder is Samiyam aka Sam Baker. Sam Baker's Debut Album is 40 minutes of pure listening pleasure, a series of woozy, off-centre hip hop instrumentals drawing heavily on Baker's love of electronic funk but never in hock to it. Intensely detailed and carrying considerable emotional weight, this is not Rap Beats Volume 2 but an album of fully-realized pieces of music which stand on their own without the need for an MC's intervention.

Ann Arbor native, Samiyam (born Sam Baker) moved to Los Angeles in 2006. In his short time out West, he has become one of the city's most progressive and recognized producers, a man who has spearheaded the revival of interest in instrumental hip-hop music over the last few years. Baker's Rap Beats Vol.1 collection was the very first release on Brainfeeder. He has also collaborated with old friend Flying Lotus as Flyamsam as well as having releases on Hyperdub and Poo-Bah records.

Samiyam describes the work contained in his Debut album simply as, "my favourite stuff" – and what could be better than that?

Track Listing:

1.    Escape
2.    Bedtime
3.    Pressure
4.    Bricks
5.    Already
6.    Frosting Packets
7.    Kitties
8.    Where Am I
9.    Cushion
10.    Turtles
11.    My Buddy
12.    No Dinner
13.    Understanding
14.    Wonton Special
15.    Taco Delay
16.    Lifesized Stuffed Animals
17.    Sometimes

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to receive info about special sales and new arrivals!