Kaimbr & Kev Brown - Alexander Green Project, CD

$ 13.98

Kaimbr & Kev Brown - Alexander Green Project, CD

There's one rule in hip hop music that has transcended all of the phases in its four decade history: it doesn't matter what you do, but how you do it that really counts. This fact is no secret to Kev Brown (producer for Busta Rhymes, De La Soul, etc) who eschews the obscure in favor of certified soul classics as sample fodder for this project with emcee Kaimbr, The Alexander Green Project.

Taking the familiar and reappropriating it into your own formula is no straightforward task but the soul-infused production on display with this project proves that in the right hands even the most recognizable of sources can be built into a fresh and engaging aesthetic. Kev Brown has those hands. Snippets of vocals punctuate sumptuous beats that are laced with chopped up strings, horn stabs, and intricate guitar licks to form a collection unified by source but ranging from the breezy to the bangin' in terms of vibe. Kaimbr adds the final piece to this musical puzzle by combining a relaxed yet confident delivery with intricate rhyme schemes that nestle themselves assuredly into the beat.

Track Listing:

1.    Solid (feat. Kenn Starr / Sean Born)
2.    Gritz
3.    Audio Background
4.    Firewater (Bartendin) (feat. Cy Young)
5.    Hook
6.    Rappin (feat. Sean Born)
7.    Songs
8.    My Apology
9.    Low Budget 260
10.    Army Fatigue Rap (feat. Roddy Rodd / Hassan Mackey / DJ Marshall Law)
11.    The Combination (feat. LB Crew)
12.    WeGon'Go!
13.    MoreGritz (feat. The Kid Daytona / Asher Roth)
14.    Go Green

Join our Mailing List

Sign up to receive info about special sales and new arrivals!