Loading... Please wait...

The ROOTS - Rising Down, CD

The ROOTS - Rising Down, CD

Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Grammy award winning hip-hop trailblazers The Roots are set to release Rising Down on April 29th via Def Jam Recordings. Known for their prolific lyrics and live instrumentation, the Legendary Philadelphia crew is composed of Tariq "Black Thought" Trotter (vocals), Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson (drums), Kamal Gray (keyboards), Frank Knuckles (percussion), Kirk "Captain Kirk" Douglas (guitar) and Owen Biddle (bass). Garnering critical praise throughout their career, The Roots have firmly established themselves as a band with uncompromised artistic control and integrity. With Rising Down, the band's 10th album release, The Roots continue to take bolder steps adding new depths and range to their repertoire. The Roots co-founder ?uestlove states, "This is probably our most political album to date dealing with addiction, nihilism, hypocritical double standards in the prison system and overall life in Philadelphia. I'd say it's more mature and intense than all of our efforts but not a 'downer' as most people expect us to do." The political nature of Rising Down is not only heard within the music. The title comes from William T. Vollmann's treatise on violence entitled Rising Up and Rising Down, and the release date falls on the 16th anniversary of the Los Angeles riots sparked by the acquittal of the police officers accused of beating Rodney King. Standout tracks include: "Criminal" a reflection of life on the streets and unjust persecution, "I Will Not Apologize" a tribute to Fela Kuti that discusses keeping dignity in the music biz and "I Can't Help It" a look at addictions and urges that compel us all. Additional guests on the album include Common, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Saigon, Dice Raw, Wale, Chrisette Michele and more.

Track Listing:

1. The Pow Wow
2. Rising Down feat. Mos Def, Styles P
3. Get Busy feat. Dice Raw, Peedi Crack, DJ Jazzy Jeff
4. @15
5. 75 Bars (Black's Reconstruction)
6. (Time Up)
7. Criminal feat. Saigon, Truck North
8. I Will Not Apologize feat. P.O.R.N., Dice Raw
9. I Can't Help It feat. Malik B, P.O.R.N.
10. Singing Man feat. Truck North, P.O.R.N.
11. Up There (Unwritten) feat. Mercedes Martinez
12. Lost Desire feat. Talib Kweli, Malik B
13. The Show feat. Common
14. Rising Up feat. Chrisette Michelle, Wale

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Condition: New In stock

Sign up to our newsletter

Accept Credit Cards
Official PayPal Seal

Click the button below to add the The ROOTS - Rising Down, CD to your wish list.