Loading... Please wait...

Nicolay of Foreign Exchange - Shibuya: City Lights Vol. 2, CD

Nicolay of Foreign Exchange - Shibuya: City Lights Vol. 2, CD

Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Shibuya is the new project from the creative mind of NICOLAY, better known as one half of THE FOREIGN EXCHANGE. The group (which includes rapper/singer Phonte) and their sophomore album "Leave It All Behind," continues to gain momentum as the duo and their extended family of singers and musicians are currently touring the United States and Canada. Nicolay and Phonte's countless performances together have added a new level of sophistication to their musical output, resulting in what they consider to be one of their most ambitious projects yet.

The idea for Shibuya, the second installment in Nicolay's City Lights series, was conceived after Nicolay's first visit to Tokyo in November 2006. The experience proved to be life changing for Nicolay, who has studied Japanese culture for most of his adult life. "This amazing place and all of its sounds and colors immediately filled up my senses," he says. "I felt reinvigorated."

Once back home, he started to write and record music with a new-found sense of freedom, laying the groundwork for the albums "Time:Line" and "Leave It All Behind" as well a third album; a deeply personal homage to the Tokyo district of Shibuya that illustrates both the grandeur of Japan's age-old heritage ("Meiji Shrine, "Rain In Ueno Park", "The Inner Garden") as well as the hectic city life of one of the world's busiest metropolitan areas ("Crossing", "Satellite", "Bullet Train"). Where "City Lights Volume 1" was primarily instrumental, on Shibuya the instrumental pieces are book-ended by several vocal songs written by Phonte and performed by Durham, North Carolina vocalist CARLITTA DURAND, who previously collaborated with Phonte on LITTLE BROTHER's "Getback" album. Also appearing is Foreign Exchange liveband-mate ZO!, who adds his virtuoso keyboard solos to two songs.

"It truly is like stepping into a different world", says Nicolay about his trip to the city. "What fascinated me most about Shibuya was the co-existence of 'old' and 'new' in seemingly perfect harmony. The most advanced technologies and innovations exist next to traditions that are rooted in thousands of years of civilization." The album's musical foundation mirrors this hybrid of different ages, combining influences from '70s jazz, rock and fusion with broken beat, downtempo and electronica to form the lush, genre-bending sound that has become Nicolay's trademark.
Track Listing:
1. Lose Your Way (Theme from Shibuya) (feat. Carlitta Durand)
2. Shibuya Station
3. Crossing
4. Rain In Ueno Park
5. Satellite
6. Saturday Night (Parts 1 & 2) (feat. Carlitta Durand)
7. A Ride Under the Neon Moon
8. Omotesando
9. Meiji Shrine
10. Shadow Dancing
11. The Inner Garden
12. Bullet Train
13. Wake Up In Another Life (feat. Carlitta Durand / Phonte)
14. Departure
15. Sibuya Epilogue (feat. Carlitta Durand)
16. Lose Your Way (Theme from Shibuya - Instrumental) (CD-only bonus track)
17. Saturday Night (Instrumental) (CD-only bonus track)
18. Wake Up In Another Life (Instrumental) (CD-only bonus track)

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Condition: New In stock

Streetwear clothing, footwear and music - The Giant Peach

We stock a wide range of streetwear clothing from top brands including Obey, HUF, 10 Deep and Rebel8

Sign up to our newsletter

Accept Credit Cards
Official PayPal Seal

Click the button below to add the Nicolay of Foreign Exchange - Shibuya: City Lights Vol. 2, CD to your wish list.