Loading... Please wait...

Myka 9 & Factor - Sovereign Soul, LP Vinyl

Myka 9 & Factor - Sovereign Soul, LP Vinyl

Calculated at checkout

Product Description

Superlatives adhere to Myka 9, yet he is absurdly under-known for an artist of his stature, and it's this paradox that too often governs discussion of his two and a half decades in rap. A body of work, by the way, bookended by ghostwriting two songs on N.W.A. and the Posse's 1987 LP and now by this piece, Sovereign Soul. Perhaps it's simply that Myka is more or less alone in the world of rap. His tonal palette is broader and brighter and his voice more liquid than other rappers. Myka's legend began in Freestyle Fellowship, whose independent debut in 1991 is comparable only to De La Soul's The Daisy Age in opening up possibilities for determined experimentation in hip-hop. As Pitchfork observed, "to say that Freestyle Fellowship significantly influenced west coast hip-hop is like saying that Jesus was a pivotal figure in Christianity." The title of Sovereign Soul is an affirmation of Myka's whole aesthetic: searching, spiritual, and fiercely independent of the burdens and strictures of pop expectation. As with Myka's 2009 collaboration, 1969, the music here flows from the head and hands of Factor, a producer from the prairies of Saskatoon in Western Canada, about half a continent from South Los Angeles.

Track Listing:

1         Sovereign Soul         
2         You Are Free         
3         Bask In These Rays featuring – Astronautalis, Ceschi     
4         Hard Hit         
5         Ode To Cosmosis featuring – Abstract Rude, Freewill (2), Moka Only
6         Mind Heights         
7         Sexy To The Beat         
8         Heaven Up featuring – JNatural, Johanna Phraze
9         Bless Me Out featuring – Jah Orah
10         Zo Oh Owe Ning featuring – Charli Rose
11         5 Mikes featuring – Myk Mansun, Mykill Miers, Open Mike Eagle, Mic King    
12         Indigenous Areas featuring – Erule
13         In So Far As We Know

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Condition: New In stock

Streetwear clothing, footwear and music - The Giant Peach

We stock a wide range of streetwear clothing from top brands including Obey, HUF, 10 Deep and Rebel8

Sign up to our newsletter

Accept Credit Cards
Official PayPal Seal

Click the button below to add the Myka 9 & Factor - Sovereign Soul, LP Vinyl to your wish list.