Loading... Please wait...

Beat Konducta (aka Madlib) & J.Rocc - Vol. 5 & 6: A Tribute To Dilla Instrumental Album (w/ FREE Stones Throw Fan Club 45!), CD

Beat Konducta (aka Madlib) & J.Rocc - Vol. 5 & 6: A Tribute To Dilla Instrumental Album (w/ FREE Stones Throw Fan Club 45!), CD

Calculated at checkout

Product Description

When Madlib followed J Dilla's now-classic Donuts with an instrumental concept- album of his own, a series was born. Beat Konducta, the alias he often scribbled on the beat CDs he handed to friends and potential collaborators , left the realm of the unknown and entered the record-buying public's conscious as Madlib's latest nom de plume. While his unedited CDs often wove quirky narratives - and served as obsessive listening material to those lucky enough to hear them albums such as Madvillain and Jaylib and collaborations with Ghostface, De La Soul, Talib Kweli and Erykah Badu sprung from them.

The concept of the Beat Konducta series was simple: put Madlib's raw beat tapes into album form one by one on vinyl, with two volumes at a time appearing on sporadically released CDs.

The first two volumes of Beat Konducta, Movie Scenes, were a soundtrack to a movie that existed only in Madlib's mind. It's score ranged from Blaxploitation soul to African-psychedelia, from Tropicalia to moody progressive rock. The second installment took its listeners on a tour of Bollywood, circa 1975. Beat Konducta In India paid sincere tribute to musical giants largely unheard of by Western ears. And kept the funk levels up all the way.

Beat Konducta Vol. 5-6: Dil Cosby & Dil Withers is a 42-track tribute to the late J Dilla. Madlib and J. Rocc arguably Dilla's closest musical compatriots during his time spent in Los Angeles lovingly remember their friend and reflect on his boundless influence. As was the case with Donuts and in keeping with the Beat Konducta's all-embracing musical bent, this album does not settle into one groove for too long. The result is a transfixing, sometimes jarring, and always soulful homage to the man Madlib crowned "King Of The Beats."
Track Listing:
1. For My Mans (Prelude) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
2. The Mystery (Dilla's Still Her) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
3. Beat Provider (Through the Years) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)    
4. J's Day Theme #3 (Support) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
5. In Jah Hands (Dilla's Lament) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
6. Get Dollaz (24-7) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
7. The String (Heavy Jones) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
8. Two For Pay Jay (No Dough, No Show) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)    
9. No More Time? (The Change) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
10. Do You Know? (Transition) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
11. Dirty Hop (The Shuffle) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
12. Floating Soul (Peace) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)  
13. Infinity Sound (Never Ending) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
14. Rolled Peach Optimos (Call Day) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
15. The Main Inspiration (Coltrane of Beats) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc) 
16. The Get Over (Move) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
17. Shades of Pete (Super) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
18. King Chop (Top Line) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
19. Anthenagin' (?) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
20. Dill Withers Theme (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
21. First Class (The Best Catalogue) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
22. Lifetime (Lifeline) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
23. The Electric Zone (Plugged In) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
24. So Much (Music) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
25. Smoked Out (Green Blaze Subliminal Sounds) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
26. Another Bag of Bomb (No Seeds) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
27. All Love (The Movement) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
28. Detroit Playaz (Gator Walk) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
29. Blast (Computer Rock) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
30. J.B. & J.D. (Interlude) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
31. Never Front (Ears Up) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)  
32. Dillalade Ride (Contact High) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
33. Suffer (Concentration) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
34. Show Me The Good Life (Chip Stack) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
35. Slapped Up (Snap N' Clap) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
36. Another Batch (Play It Again) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
37. Full Figure Pockets (Pay Jay) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
38. Smoke Interlude (Hawaiian Punch) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)     
39. The Sky (Beyond Sight) (Produced By: Madlib; J.Rocc)      
40. Stones Throw Fan Club 45:  
41. The Electric Zone (Long Version) (Produced By: Madlib) 
42. J.D. & J.B. (Long Version) (Produced By: Madlib)

Find Similar Products by Tag

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Sign up to our newsletter

The Giant Peach is an Upfront Merchant on TheFind. Click for info.

Click the button below to add the Beat Konducta (aka Madlib) & J.Rocc - Vol. 5 & 6: A Tribute To Dilla Instrumental Album (w/ FREE Stones Throw Fan Club 45!), CD to your wish list.